me and HE…..

love scrapbook page

It has been over 3 months now that Scott and I have been dating. It feels odd typing that since it seems like it has been so much longer than that! I certainly don’t mean that in any derogatory way; but from the first phonecall, we have talked non-stop! And laughed non-stop….

I struggle to tell you how we met because in so many ways I feel like I first met Scott just a few months ago. In all actuality, Scott and I went to jr high and high school together. And not unlike other Facebook friends of mine, Scott found me through the “Someone You Might Know” section and asked to be my friend. I remember Scott from those days; but not strong memories of classes together, mutual friends, etc. We ran in two different circles. Basically, he was a swimmer. And I was in Music. The strongest memory/sense I have of Scott was his face smiling largely – red, happy cheeks. I suppose it’s an odd thing to remember about someone, but that was the first (and lasting) remembrance I have of him from school.

The first day that he befriended me on Facebook, I immediately responded back and we started talking on each others Wall (forgive me if there are any non-Facebook readers out there….) The Wall Conversation eventually moved to a back and forth private messaging on FB as our lives began to unfold as the question of ‘What have you been up to since high school?’ began to reveal its answers. The responses were quick and back and forth and happy and fluid. And then the post came that made me stop in my tracks and I didn’t respond for a few minutes: “Are you working too hard to take a phonecall?

[insert flashing cursor on my screen…]

If you’ve never read this from me before, then I will tell you now: I HATE TALKING ON THE PHONE!!! For some reason, it is too much pressure for me. I’m not a casual conversationalist on the phone. In person, sure. But the phone should be used to conduct quick transactions of information or request – and then hang up.

Sure.”

And within minutes, my phone rang.

We talked a long time. A LONG time! And that has been our story ever since. Girls, this man is a texter! For those of you that are fans of that sweet little mode of communication throughout the day, WOW!!! I have met my match! But what I most adore, is that we are not strictly texters. We talk often on the phone throughout the day and there has not been one week that has gone by that we haven’t seen each other on the weekend.

It is a fun relationship. Neither one of us are in any kind of hurry except to fully enjoy the here and now. We have talked. Cried. Laughed. And dreamed together. But our feet are firmly planted in Right Now.

There is much to learn about each other. And a lot of things yet to be discovered. But what I know for sure is:

* he treats me far better than anyone deserves to be treated!!
* he makes me laugh – a BIG plus in my book!
* he cares about the things I care about (with his only flaw being he voted for that Other party in the last election…..)
* we see Life very similarly
* we have been able to share concerns of prayer together
* I have met my match in areas of my life where I always seem to give WAY too much: enthusiasm for adventure, taking the world on head-on, transparency of thoughts and feelings, communication levels, and even – consumption of pop!!! (altho he is a Diet Coke drinker!)
* my friends like him
* my kids like him
* family members like him
* and he is great at (even loves!) working on projects around the house!

C’mon. Can you get any better than that?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you, Scott.
You are teaching me so much; and helping me to
re-learn some things as well…….

US layout

he has even revived some dormant creativity! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “me and HE…..

  1. July 3, 2009 6:28 PM
    Anonymous said…
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    – Marjorie

    July 4, 2009 9:45 AM
    superman said…
    I know he feels the same way about you!

    July 4, 2009 9:48 AM
    Anonymous said…
    I am so happy for you! I hope that you’re having a whiz bang of a 4th! =)
    Tammy

    July 4, 2009 4:57 PM
    Anonymous said…
    Hey, who’s that hairy old fart with you? G, you need to get that boy some grecian formula! HA!

    – Greg

  2. so this is the man you hijacked my phone to talk to… good to know

    – Harriet

    heeheeee!! you now have a face with your anonymous texting ๐Ÿ˜€

    – Greta

Leave a Reply

