This House

IMG_5620

This house where my mother raised me…

This house where my mother meticulously picked out flowers and trees and shrubs…

This house where my mother canned millions of green beans…

This house where my mother tried to make me EAT all of those green beans…

This house where my mother made us kneel and pray around her bed on Sunday evenings…

This house where my mother and I had our share of mother-daughter arguments…

This house where my mother taught me how to live life proudly as a lady…

This house where I saw lived before me a mother who worked full-time…

This house where I watched my mother wash her face religiously every night…

This house where my mother taught me how to ‘lead boys on just a little’…

This house where my mother taught me the joys of home decorating…

This house where my mother slowly and carefully decorated the Christmas trees…

This house where my mother practiced numerous duets with my father and church choir cantatas – in her beautiful alto voice…

This house where she rehearsed readings that she gave in perfect diction, intonation and e.nun.ci.a.tion…

This house where my mother finally broke down and let me wear pants to school in 3rd grade…

This house where my mother carefully ironed my wedding dress…

This house where my mother baked delicious meals for our guests…

This house where my mother spoiled both of my children…

This house where my mother made me Delmarva chicken & banana cake with coffee icing on my birthdays…

This house were my mother passed on family traditions and strong Christian values…

This house…

The house where she has lived for the last 35+ years…

Will only be her residence for just one more week.

This house has protected and cared for her as long as it could.

And on Monday, October 26, my mother will leave this house, most likely, for the very last time.

She has a new home now. The Groves will be her home. A nice care facility for Alzheimer patients. A new home that will care for her in a new way. A home that will watch over her closely and give her all the medical care that she now requires.

This house, will no longer be her home.

And while the transition might not be as difficult for her; it is very painful for the rest of us.

I don’t know this house, without my mother.

And quite frankly, I have no idea what I am suppose to do. Say. Or how to act. I don’t know how to ‘do’ this part of Life.

IMG_5618

Feeling overwhelmed and sad…..

g

8 thoughts on “This House

  1. Oh Greta, i feel so bad for you! it seems like there are “chapters” in life that we have to go through that are very difficult and seem so unfair. i will pray that you have strength to get through this difficult transition in your life. XO ~Tammy in Michigan

  2. I will be there babe, to hold your hand through this time full of overwhelming emotions. Be sure to reach out and hold Gods hand as it is always there for you. I hope someday when you walk into your parents home, you will only remember those good times. Times of family, fun and faith.

  3. My first thought after reading this was about when you and I returned from my dad’s funeral in Elkhart. Your mother used to have a dish in the shape of a Holstein cow in the kitchen, and I noticed it was missing. When I asked where it was, someone mentioned that your mother had taken it down. Since Dad’s accident had been caused by hitting some cattle on the highway, and he died as a result, Marlene didn’t want the cow-shaped dish to cause me pain in memory of his loss. It was a very subtle thing, one many people wouldn’t have thought of. But Marlene did. Marlene expressed her love in subtle ways, but not surface ways. She deeply cared and loved, and communicated it in the best ways she could.

    I also think of the Lancome cream in the bathroom cabinet downstairs, along with the Kleenex, out of the box and neatly stacked. Orderly. Clean. It occurs to me now that maybe her desire for order was less about herself, and more for the comfort of her guests. Maybe I didn’t “get” that part of her. She was giving it, I just didn’t receive it. I am sorry for you, Loy, and Anna Margaret and the grandkids. Although this move is most definitely for her best it is still tragic. A different kind of grief. Longer. Confusing.

    May God continue to be “a very present help…”

  4. So beautifully written…as I am feeling stupid that i am sad that my mom just left on an airplane….I will pray for you as this really is a new chapter that you WILL get through!

  5. I continue to be amazed at the way you are able to express your feelings. I can’t imagine what you are going through having someone you love still with you, but not really.

    – Mary Mays

Leave a Reply

