our yard

It’s been fun this spring working with Scott on our yard. It’s fun to ‘envision’ something, and then Scott just makes it happen – we are a perfect combo for things like that!

I have wanted window boxes for so long! That whole English cottage garden thing is always what I envision for the world that I call Home. Always have.

So Scott risked life and limb (with some spotting from Dad), and put up my new window boxes this weekend. I love them!! (and only visualize them in a few months when they will be full and draping lots of green vines and wispy flowers.)

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, sweetie!!!!!

One of the best things about window boxes is the added treat of what they look like from inside the house. They are perfect for my little shabby chic sitting room. Perfect!!

Here are some glimpses around our Starter Yard. It’s so hard to be patient and wait for what only years and years of care can bring.

Pink azaleas line our rock path…

Pink geraniums…

Pink crawling flower/vine thats name escapes me at the moment and I don’t want to get up and look it up…

Front porch…

Purple vines waiting to take over this tower…

Honeysuckle and lilacs growing in the backyard…

Before…

During…

After…

I love the way the window boxes look. But even more so, later on when Scott and I were talking about them, Scott said in reflection, “I like window boxes. They make a house look like someone alive lives there.” I love that sentiment!! He went on to say that anyone could have a lawn maintained while they’re gone for months at a time, but if there are window boxes, you know someone lives there that is concerned about personally and daily taking care of their home. Absolutely lovely thought…

Lots of hard work this weekend; but also some time to sit and chat as well. After hours of hard work I peeked out the window to see how they were doing. This is what I saw out the window; Dad, Sterling and Scott. Enjoying a break together…

Such a happy sitting room…

I’m not sure what comes first –

the dream of a cottage garden
the love that makes it happen
or the purchasing of the plants.

I don’t know what it is. I just know all three have been therapeutic and energizing along the way…

Leave a Reply

