Some of you will find this really stupid. Others will totally understand…

Positive: I get to work from home.
Negative: I get to work from home.

As the only paid employee of a non-profit, volunteer-driven organization, I am always behind. Always! I have come to grips with the fact that I will never get caught up.

Unfortunately, I have allowed that to dictate my schedule for over two years now. When you don’t “go” to work and “come home” from work, it constantly surrounds and mocks you: “Here I am! You need to work awhile on this project or answer that stack of emails.”

A day goes by and I have accomplished nothing for my home, family, or anything for myself. Many times, at night, I lie in bed and think about the many things I forgot to do that day: laundry, grocery shop, read a book, watch the news. Little things; but things that get overlooked in the need to get my work ‘done’. At this rate, I’ll have a heart attack before I’m 45 years old…….(achem).

I know a very important yet immensely superficial thing about myself: I’m more apt to do something, if it’s cute.

Yep; cute.

Not a lot of highly intelligent motivation there. But it’s true nonetheless.

So I made myself a little ‘schedule’ – particularly for the days when Scott is away for work. Things I need to accomplish and a general time schedule on which to do it. I built in time in the day to work. And time to chill. Time to get things done around the house and yard. And time to get together with friends.

I stopped just short of telling myself when to breathe in. And when to breathe out.

Of course it’s fluid. Not every day is the same. Some days I have meetings. Things come up.

But I can at least start out my day with a better plan…rather than the approach of “work until you fall asleep at night.”

Now. How about lunch plans?? I’m open from 11:30-1:30pm……

Leave a Reply

