I come to the Garden alone…

I felt a bit like Noah this morning, surveying our yard after the rain.

Here in Kansas City, we have been receiving LOADS of rain for days and days on end. As soon as there is a break in the clouds, the neighborhood sounds are of lawn mowers, trying to catch up quickly with their overgrown grass – before the next round of storms hit.

I am once again reminded that I would not be a good Seattle resident – no matter how artsy cool their communities are.

So it was a nice treat to walk through the dew-soaked grass this morning, seeing the new growth and the blooms stretching toward the already hot sunshine.

The atmosphere was thick with humidity and it gave every indication of a very warm day ahead. But for a few minutes, it was very nice to walk in the garden – with the dew, still on the roses…

The hibiscus are beginning to bloom

To plant wildflowers from seed, is to have a lion’s share of patience and hope. I am not that person. Scott, however, is. “Just give it a little more time…” he keeps telling me. Finally, his hope is being rewarded and our fence lines are beginning to look more like wildflowers and less like a bunch of weeds.

How does your (herb) garden grow? Mine’s doing beautifully!!

Oh how I wish you could smell this chocolate mint!!!

The Mimosa trees are in bloom. I have a very special place in my heart for Mimosa trees. They will always remind me of the front yard of my grandparents house in Duncan, Oklahoma. When I look at them, I hear the screen door slamming and can smell Pop Pop’s wonder-filled garage…

Again, we’re behind with our garden, but it is growing like mad! These green onions will soon grace the surface of juicy grilled hamburgers bbq’d at the end of a hot summer’s evening…
(p.s. Scott is mulching the garden with grass clippings from the yard)

Snow peas, beginning to climb…

Lettuce…

Elephant ears poking through the ground…

Peaches on the trees…

Week-old planted honeysuckle, claiming their stretching spots…

Window boxes, gracing the front of the house as well as our bedroom window view…

The climbing roses are beginning their upward journey…

And the ferns are unfurling their new fronds of growth.

A quiet morning walk.
Admiring some of God’s most perfect gifts.

And He walks with me
And He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own……

3 thoughts on “I come to the Garden alone…

  1. Thank you for sharing those beautiful pics of your lovely flowers/garden. Makes me wish I would take the time to do more of it. Maybe once my kids are gone from home…I assume that will give me lots more free time. =) Have a blessed day my friend!

Leave a Reply

