Aging sucks. However…

Sometimes it comes in handy.

I just ran into a convenience store to get a drink (yes, in a styrofoam cup). There were two early 20-something female workers behind the cash register. An older gentlemen was getting a drink also. And 3 early 20-something customers.

I caught the girl customer out of the corner of my eye and watched as she slowly began collapsing to the floor. I heard one of the two guys she was with say, “Well, just sit down then.”

I recognized a heat exhaustion.

I took my purchases to the counter and said to the two workers, “I think something’s going on back there.”

I heard the older gentlemen ask them, “Is everything okay?”

The guys (who had laid her down) were a bit embarrassed and said, “Yeah. I think she’s just hot.”

I watched as the workers asked the guys, “Is there anything we can do?” To which the guys said, “Nah. She just needs to cool off a minute.”

A voice in my head (was it audible? It sounded pretty loud…) said to me, “Greta! They need you to be a 45-year-old mother.”

I asked the worker to get me a papertowel. I stooped down to the girl and put my hand on her forehead and asked, “Is it okay if I put a papertowel under your neck? I promise it will make you feel better very quickly.”

I dipped the papertowel in a nearby Fanta cooler display filled with ice, squeezed it out, then warned her it was going to be very cold.

I slowly attached the papertowel to the back of her neck. After that she sat up awhile before I left, telling her of all things to drink a LOT of water.

Wrinkles.
Age spots.
Reading glasses.
Heart disease.
Thinning hair and growing ears.

But sometimes…when I really think about it…I welcome the age and experience that comes with all the surface junk.

Thankful for an old mind today!

p.s. Drink lots of water!!

One thought on “Aging sucks. However…

Leave a Reply

