inspiration book

In 1997 I began scrapbooking. My overall intent was to document my family’s life so that my children would have something to look back at and remember the photos and momentos. Along with my comments and thoughts in the form of journaling.

But this past year I have moved away from scrapbooking. I don’t know if it’s lack of time or lack of motivation. It feels like that creative vat has dried up for the time being for me.

One of my favorite things to do, however (my total indulgence) is to sit with a pile of magazines, and peruse to my heart’s delight. Short attention span, I suppose. But it’s a grown-up picture book. And the pictures are wonderfully inspiring to me. For the past 20+ years I have ripped out pages and filed them appropriately: decorating, holiday decorating, recipes, color combinations, canvas ideas, etc…

I have always been enamored by the Inspiration Board of interior decorating. Colors, patterns, designs. Therefore, I recently began an Inspiration Book of my own. So often children see their parents as the ones who make them finish chores, or the ones who require their obedience. Parents are always old, it seems. But each parent is an individual with likes and dislikes. It’s important for their children (and grandchildren) to know their more personal side too.

I enjoy fashion. ‘Enjoying fashion’ is very different, mind you, than being a pillar of fashion yourself. I certainly don’t fit that description. But I enjoy the trends and patterns and colors that fashion brings to our lives.

My inspiration book is divided into categories: General Inspiration (like an article on Norah Ephron recently in Elle magazine regarding Ephron’s intriguing career in journalism), Accessories (I’m always a sucker for a new watch), Coats (my biggest weakness), Shoes (come to mama!), etc. Soon I will begin a Home Inspiration book as well. Simply slipped into page protectors, it’s an easy way to put together a “scrapbook” of sorts – to document the little things in life that make me smile and make my heart skip a beat. Each has a handwritten note as to what in particular inspired me on that page.

Following are some pictures of my simple book of inspiration…documenting a little of who I am:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

