goodbyes suck.

I hate goodbyes. They weigh on me for days and eventually turn mundane, everyday moments into the heavy realization that I had to recently let someone go. That stark moment of remembering that there is a void where once there was friendship. I am deeply grateful for the time we shared and the impact they will undoubtedly have on my future, even in their absence.

Goodbye Aibileen.
Goodbye Minny and Skeeter and Mae Mobley.
Goodbye Constantine. Pascagoula. And Mrs. Phelan.

Thank you for sharing your lives with me.

And thank you, the deeply talented Kathryn Stockett, for introducing us…

I will…
And the whole world will…
Take your names into literary history.

Leave a Reply

