Employing the 3Rs.

Scott and I are geniuses.
Seriously. Geniuses, I tell you.

We have been talking about a coffee table we wanted to make for the porch. It is so much fun to envision something, talk it out with Scott, he catches the vision, we improve upon the design and details, then…he makes it. Wow. A creative thinker married to a creative carpenter.

Hello match made in heaven!

As you know, we recently collaborated on window covering for our bedroom. The next project in mind was this coffee table.

I wanted sturdy, industrial, heavy…
Scott wanted to use repurposed materials and wanted to construct it himself.

Yesterday morning we headed to our favorite furniture thrift store to see if anything struck us as “it”. Nothing really struck a chord with us so we headed to our local ReStore.

[I hope you have a local ReStore in your city. If you’re not familiar with it, it is a warehouse that stores all the extra building supplies and/or removed building supplies from Habitat for Humanity homes. Other places donate stuff to the store too…ie: restaurant booths and tables we saw yesterday…and the proceeds go to the H4H coffers. Win, win, win.]

We found part of what we were looking for…a big slab of marble granite. Scott saw it first and called me over with a big grin. I loved it. It had chips and marbelization, and is certainly durable. I can’t even BEGIN to tell you how heavy this is!!!

At the other ReStore location we (achem…I. It was totally me who pointed to the plank of wood on the very bottom and said THIS ONE LOOKS GOOD…) found a terrific 10ft board of hardwood. Again, EXTREMELY heavy!!!

By this time we knew the general direction we were going. I really wanted to re-use the legs from a harvest table that has fallen apart over the years. Before Larry and I got married in 1986, his mother found the neatest harvest table for us at a garage table. I have loved that table over the years, but it has slowly deteriorated from moves as well as the soft pine wood out of which it was constructed. I just couldn’t throw it away and was happy that now, I could use part of it as a reuse project.

Our car was loaded down as we made our way back home

So far:
slate of granite – $20
hardwood – $3.50

Now we needed bolts.
Strasser Hardware is a good old-fashioned hardware store on Southwest Blvd in Kansas City. It’s been there forever and so have the very knowledgable employees. We needed bolts and corner angles. We found some “cool” (yes, that’s my professional opinion) bolts that weren’t shiny and we long enough to hold this all together. But they didn’t have the corner angles we needed – or at least ones that were thick enough.

Bolts: $8

No problem.
Enter Scott’s dad.

So while I stayed home and worked, Scott took all the materials to be cut out to his dad’s table saw and while he made the cuts, Scott’s dad made us some angle iron corners. Then drilled holes in them to attach.

Scott cut the table legs off, just below the top ‘bulge’.

He then cut the hardwood into 4 sides. The inside of the wood was gorgeous! (who picked this piece out?!)

(hey – there’s a bit for that)

After bolting the legs to the inside of the box at two different angles – we now had a table bottom.

We brought the piece of granite inside from the car using a dolly and a moving blanket – and WAY more of Scott’s back muscles than my own – and placed it on top of the newly constructed square bottom with legs.

The totality of the table’s weight is 250lbs. It is SERIOUSLY heavy. And seriously durable. And seriously industrial.

Just what we envisioned.

I can’t wait to fill it up with whispy flowers, dripping candles, piles of magazines, funky material and many enjoyable dinners (if we EVER have weather that is somewhat normal again.)

I love its marks and imperfections (somehow I relate well with that).

I love that it is practically indestructible.
Sturdy enough to shoulder many, many memories and conversations that it will be privvy to in the future.

THANK YOU FOR BEING SUCH A ROCKSTAR HUSBAND, SCOTT!!!!
It’s fun because you enjoy creating uniqueness just as much as I do.

Our table has a story. And a history.
We saved it from a landfill or a burn pile.

Total genuises!

3 thoughts on “Employing the 3Rs.

  1. Bulletproof, and I am guessing that it will survive the apocalypse so Hannah, keep it in mind for your storage unit bunker… haha

  2. That is AWESOME… and lordy help us all if these two builder geniuses ever get a chance to actually get together — I love it when Ray and I create and we are on the same page 🙂 Looks like I’ll be pulling in some ideas from you next year.

Leave a Reply

