burning bridges

Ran across an article entitled, Burning Bridges: Letting the Past Be Past, by Shellie R. Warren.

Warren quotes Scottish classical guitarist, David Russell: “The hardest thing in life to learn is which bridge to cross and which to burn.”

We’ve always been taught to never burn our bridges, and yet…some are worth dousing in kerosene and never looking back (aka: lot’s wife turned to look at Sodom and Gomorrah and was turned to salt!)

The author went on to write about past experiences and relationships that she needed to leave behind lest they consume too much of her energy and thoughts. Like me, I’m sure many of you read that last line and have already begun thinking of people who represent a part of you that is no longer true…no longer who you are now…experiences that need to be let go. Things/people that need to stop consuming any more of your thought space. We have all made poor choices and yet we all seem to think that we are the only ones that have experienced such loss, heartache, shame, guilt (you insert the feeling) and even though there is benefit to rehashing and working through those feelings, sometimes it is best to turn the corner and just walk away.

The significant part of the article to me was that Warren not only talked about past experiences, but people as well. The need for burning bridges that connect us to those persons who are not beneficial (insert: unhealthy) in our lives/journey now.

Warren ends the article with a few sentences I found particularly helpful (with regard to the people she needs to leave in her past): 

I cannot graduate to a new level in my life if I want to stay in the same class year after year. 

I have to get to a point where I am more interested in creating new memories than rehearsing the same ones over and over again.

What it does mean is that I must love them (and me) enough to know that praying for them does not require their permission or my presence in their life.

There comes a time in our lives when we must move forward and not look back – not out of spite, but responsiblity…not just for ourselves but for others as well.


I found this article very helpful; for what reason, I am not quite yet sure… Maybe it is something you needed to be freed from today as well.

Leave a Reply

