It’s me. It’s me. It’s me, oh Lord…

Sunday evening our pastor preached a sermon that had him just a bit nervous beforehand. I had the opportunity to meet with Eric earlier in the week for some good, catch-up conversation, and he mentioned his nervousness over what he was quipping: the Gay Sermon.

Thinking something privately can be much easier than publicly saying it from a pulpit. But as I knew would happen, Eric was funny and biblically grounded and loving. Just like any other sermon.

He covered the many biblical references to sexual sins which include:
* divorce
* being ‘castrated for the sake of birth control’
* sex on Sunday
* stoning to death for the act of adultery
* and of course (legally), up until 1967, interracial marriage

What I knew Eric would not do is give his personal beliefs about homosexuality. What he did, instead, is call for our church to have…
…a new discussion.
…a new conversation.
…a new humanity.

Did you know that the average age of a Christian in 1960 was 30-something?
And that the average age of a Christian today is 60-something?
We are losing generations of young adults who are fiercely loyal to their tribe (which many times does not include family.) They will accept a church body that is willing to love their close friends, but they will shun a church that tries to ostracize them.

Can we learn some new lessons as a Christian body?
…how to do justice for the poor?
…how to love the homosexual?
…how to embrace each other as sinners saved by grace? (not seeing certain segments of society as ‘others’, but as co-inhabitants of God’s people?)

Or are we more personally threatened by something we simply don’t understand? So many of us have been affected personally by divorce. It’s a little easier to understand. And how many of us can stand behind the big V of vasectomy and say, “THIS has stopped me from going completely crazy in life with 9 kids!!”

But homosexuality? That’s a little tougher, no? A bit more difficult to wrap our minds around sometimes.

There’s an old 60s church song that we sang during the service this past Sunday night that I have sped through numerous times in my life. But somehow in the context of the sermon, I heard the words differently this time.

It’s me, it’s me, it’s me, oh Lord…
Standing in the need of prayer.

Not my brother, not my mother, but it’s me oh, Lord.
Standing in the need of prayer.

It made me concentrate on just myself. I felt the internal challenge asking me what it would be like if I prayed these words daily: just for me and my need for prayer. My need for grace. My need for forgiveness. My need for compassion.

It’s me, it’s me, it’s me, oh Lord…
Standing in the need of prayer.

Not the republicans, not Michelle Bachman, not the capitalists, oh Lord.
Standing in the need of prayer.

Not the wealthy, not the Hummer driver, not the loud mouthed salesman, Lord.
Standing in the need of prayer.

Not the ex-wives, not the selfish, not the monetary system, oh Lord.
Standing in the need of prayer.

But it’s me, it’s me, it’s me, oh Lord.
Standing in the need of prayer…

Leave a Reply

