one little word.

For many, many, MANY years I have read the blog of Ali Edwards. I find her creativity unparalleled. I have taken her one little word challenge in the past. Following is a part of Ali’s post regarding her 2012 word.

What would your word be? I think I know what mine will be, but I want to live with it for a few more days before I say for sure.

One Little Word: It’s a good exercise to consider…

Source: aliedwards.com via Greta on Pinterest

My word for 2012 is up.

It came to me one day last month while I was working in the kitchen and the kids were watching the movie Up. My initial connection to the word stems from the part towards the end where the old man is looking at the scrapbook his wife made and a note she wrote to him at the end which says something along the lines of “Thanks for the adventure. Now go have a new one.” (Found the clip here.)

That’s the attitude I’d like to be working towards and embracing in 2012.

Up | ready, eager, open, awake, into a happy mood

There were so many words I could have chosen for what I want for myself in 2012. This one simply feels like a good starting place. I will also be carrying three of my past words close to my heart again in 2012: light, story, and peace.

Are you considering selecting a word for yourself (or letting one find you)? There’s no right or wrong. The main thing to remember is that this is your word. It’s not for your child, parent, partner, spouse, sister, etc.

And what do you do with this one little word?

You live with it. You invite it into you life. You let it speak to you. You might even follow where it leads. There are so many possibilities.

Leave a Reply

