sail in the direction of the wind

I have, for decades, kept a journal of quotations, book excerpts, ideas that were particularly inspiring to me. And although I love the idea of handwritten journals of any kind, I am finding it increasingly easy to simply copy and paste inspirational words into my Tumblr account for safe keeping. I update it just about every day – having read something somewhere that I don’t want to forget. If you’d like to follow, I’d love to share it with you. But ultimately, it is my own collection of found words that moved me to think twice. It is a discipline in which I will benefit most.

The following excerpt from Donald Miller’s blog meant a great deal to me last month…

It reminded me of a difficult time that my parents were going through at church when Mom found the quote, “You can’t change the wind, you can however adjust your sails.” That phrase has drifted through my mind many times in my life. It is a losing task to keep forcing yourself to go in the direction you had originally intended. Forces beyond you might be pushing you toward a different destination. It is a difficult decision at times to stop flailing about and simply submit yourself to the direction in which the wind sees fit for you to go.

Leave a Reply

