this made me smile…

Reading this quote made me immediately think to myself, Wait!, you mean it’s okay to enjoy children’s literature?”

I love children’s books. Their stories are deep and imaginative. Good guys, more often than not, win and there’s a clear delineation between good and evil. They are simple and complex. They stir an emotion in me that elicits sailing on swings at the park more than the all-too-familiar feelings of preparing food for dinner or finishing the laundry today.

When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.
– C. S. Lewis, On Three Ways of Writing for Children

Summer reading program checklists and filling up my Icee punch card…

I (heart) kidlit.

2 thoughts on “this made me smile…

  1. That’s awesome. I always feel silly in adult conversation when the topic of what everyone’s reading comes up and all I have to offer is Go Dog Go.

  2. Good point! I worked at a school library my first year out of college and it was a great excuse to read children’s books. I no longer have that excuse but still revisit old favorites (Chronicles of Narnia, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Frances Hodgson Burnett) as well as new classics (Harry Potter) for the same reasons you mention. They remind me why I learned to love reading in the first place.

Leave a Reply

